Monday, November 28, 2011


Hey folks in the LA area. I'm doing a mentorship program through Motivarti. Be sure to check it out, there is a great roster of mentors through the program.

Monday, November 21, 2011

"Rad How to" book

Hey folks out there! So I want to make a book by comicon with all new tutorials and examples from my own work. Here is an example of how it would look. if this is something you would like to see, please leave a comment. I want to get a gage of how many people would want this. thanks!

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

there are probably a million ways to start a drawing, here are a few things I start with. The photos were taken by Mucha as reference for his paintings.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Figure invention class notes

Here is a small sampling of the notes for my figure invention class:

Monday, October 3, 2011

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Life drawing notes

For my life drawing class, we start with shape slowly measuring out the placement of things using straight lines. Then we deal with form in this manner.

Saturday, September 3, 2011

Fall Enrollment for CDA

I"ll be teaching Figure invention and Story development this term at CDA. You can sign up now here

Monday, August 1, 2011

Story class lecture

Here are some really general story notes from my storyboarding class (Note, this is the structure for most animated films, characters like James Bond don't have a need, just a want. Ususally the kill the bad guy):

Monday, July 25, 2011

Gesture drawing demo

Here are two demos for my Figure invention class. For three of the weeks, I bring in a costumed model for gesture drawing. I try to get people to add a background and some sort of story. I feel like if you get in the habit of doing that, it elevates your drawings to something more. even if you are doing just character design or just doodling.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

quick sketching

Can you tell what I'm boarding on:

Class 4 demo

and my notes from story class. this really won't make sense without the lecture.